Programme Schedule

24 September 2021

Need for Pluralism

Fireside Chat with Ingrid Kvangraven

6:30 PM - 8:00 PM IST / 3:00 PM - 4:30 PM CET / 9:00 AM - 10:30 AM EST

Join us for a fireside session with Ingrid Kvangraven as we discuss her experience with the Rethinking Economics movement and other organisations operating in the space of pluralist and heterodox economics. The session will also talk about why pluralist and heterodox ideas are important to economics, where the Rethinking Economics movement is headed, and what is important for the movement to prioritise going forward. This would be followed by a Q&A session with the audience.

q_2HrDWx_400x400.jpeg

Ingrid Kvangraven, Lecturer (Assistant Professor) in International Development at King’s College, London.

25 September 2021

Diversifying & Decolonising Economics

Understanding the Shifting Barriers of Access to Higher Education in India

3:30 PM - 5:00 PM IST / 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM CET / 6:00 AM - 7:30 AM EST

The session seeks to illuminate and question discrimination via exclusion in higher education in India, addressing the consequences of marginalisation by highlighting and discussing the possible methods, policies and pathways that enable diversity and representation within such institutions.

Diversifying & Decolonising Economics

Revisiting Tribal Agency

5:30 PM - 7:00 PM IST / 2:00 PM - 3:30 PM CET / 8:00 AM - 9:30 AM EST

This session aims at understanding challenges in the existence of organizing principles and structures which allow or hinder tribal representation in economic policymaking, and what the process of decolonizing the tribal regions entails on economic, political, and social levels. We intend to address the historical analysis of economic systems and their relation to indigenous communities and explore the responsibilities of the economic institutions in bridging these gaps and thereby creating diversity and inclusion in resource management. Lastly, the session will also explore the responsibilities of economic institutions in bridging these gaps and thereby creating diversity and inclusion in resource management.

gasharma_0.jpeg

G Amarjit Sharma - Assistant Professor, Special Centre for the Study of North East India, JNU

Join Here

26 September 2021

Better Economics for Climate Change & Biodiversity

Big Money, Markets, and Climate Change

3:00 PM - 4:30 PM IST / 11:30 AM - 1:00 PM CET / 5:30 AM - 7:00 AM EST

From this panel discussion, we aim to focus on the nature of capital allocation in climate change. Focusing on the Global South, we would like to understand the contextualisation of the funding and implementation of climate infrastructure projects, various instruments of international financing for climate, and question the efficacy of market-based initiatives as solutions to climate change.

Photo_Volz.jpg

Ulrich Volz - Professor, Econonomics & Director, Centre for Sustainable Finance, SOAS

Better Economics for Climate Change & Biodiversity

Event Partner

Copy of Logo_GBL black .png

Better Economics for Climate Change and Worker Wellbeing

5:30 PM - 7:00 PM IST / 2:00 PM - 3:30 PM CET / 8:00 AM - 9:30 AM EST

With this session, we aim to understand the effects of climate change on the most vulnerable and question the transition to the circular economy with respect to how truly inclusive it is. We will shed light on the disproportionate effects of the climate crisis for those at the bottom of the pyramid and the importance of including them as equal stakeholders when designing climate solutions.

ach-02.jpg

Achyuta Adhvaryu - Chief Development Officer & Co-founder, Good Business Lab; Associate Professor, University of Michigan

sai-siddharth-janapareddy_0.jpeg

Sai Siddharth Janapareddy, Senior Policy Associate (Lead, Energy, Environment and Climate Change), J-PAL South Asia

30 September 2021

Need for Pluralism

Policy Case Competition

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM IST / 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM CET / 9:30 AM - 11:00 AM EST

Theme: “Hidden voices of sex-workers in India”. Marginalised genders who work in the sex industry have always had to deal with harsh situations in order to make a living. As a result of their marginalisation, they face challenges on a variety of fronts, including health, education, and social justice.

About the Event: The policy case competition encourages young students to apply learnings from their classrooms and aims to push aspiring policymakers to think critically, evaluate the shortcomings of the existing policies, and recommend solutions.

1st October 2021

Need for Pluralism

Funding the New Economy

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM IST / 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM CET / 9:30 AM - 11:00 AM EST

The following session convenes funders with experience and goals to fund new economic thinking, research, and alternative methods. It involves engaging with panelists from within the philanthropy space to discuss various approaches, development, and interest towards new economic thinking, from outside the academic space. This session would look to understand the stakeholders mobilised by funding, the Indian landscape (or lack of) for this kind of funding, and learning from the experiences of funders globally to take away insights that can be potentially adapted to India and the Global South.

20200118_OPP502.jpeg

Robin Varghese, Open Society Foundations

220px-Jo_Swinson.jpeg

Jo Swinson, Partners for a New Economy

kelly-10.jpeg

Kelly Clark, Laudes Foundation

2 October 2021

Global Governance & Global South

Global Health Governance Conference Presentations

2:30 PM - 4:30 PM IST / 11:00 AM - 1:00 PM CET / 5:00 AM - 7:00 AM EST

Out of the chaos perpetuated by this existing mode of global health governance emerges a need to rethink the interstices between the Global North and the Global South. This not only includes engaging with the diverse and often conflict-inducing ways of framing the subject of health as, intermittently - a national security issue, a human right, or a global public good - but also to critically examine the power dynamics that constitute the existing character of North-South relations.  

The presentation session brings forth some critical presentations from researchers and policy professionals to present theoretical or empirical work on the state of global health governance and its implications for the Global South.

Presenters

Govindpuram Suresh (IIT Tirupati), Ilyana Syafiqa binti Mukhriz Mudaris (Khazanah Research Institute), Asmita Verma (Indian Institute of Science), and Anandita Pathak (Youth Collaborative Network)

Global Governance & Global South

Rethinking International Institutions Plenary: A Global South Perspective

5:30 PM - 7:00 PM IST / 2:00 PM - 3:30 PM CET / 8:00 AM - 9:30 AM EST

As the countries worldover try to gain senses out of the shambles of the pandemic, there is a need to interrogate the enduring questions posed by the broader context of the system of global governance and international institutions. From this plenary session, we intend to understand the challenges and the need to recalibrate the global rules towards the overarching goals of social and economic stability and further take the discussion towards common but differentiated responsibilities in a multilateral system towards advancing global public goods and protecting the global commons. This plenary session will be geared towards rethinking international institutions and the challenges that the business-as-usual approach presents for the Global South, given the historical legacy of power inequalities among nations.

Komo Kwame Sundaram.jpg

Jomo Kwame Sundaram, Fellow, Academy of Science, Malaysia, Emeritus Professor, University of Malaya, and Senior Adviser, Khazanah Research Institute, Founder-Chair, International Development Economics Associates (IDEAS)

voucs83dstrrc139gsn2vrvu8._SX450_.jpg

Isabella Weber - PERI Research Associate and Research Leader in China Studies; Assistant Professor of Economics

Lebohang Liepollo Pheko.jpg

Lebohang Liepollo Pheko, Senior Research Fellow and Political Economist at Trade Collective

JJT_profile_Aug2020_corrected_IMG_0337_Aug2020_small.jpeg

Jayan Jose Thomas, Professor of Economics at the Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi

Global Governance & Global South

Roundtable on Global Tax Agreement

8:00 PM - 9:30 PM IST / 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM CET / 10:30 AM - 12:00 AM EST

This roundtable discussion intends to explore the recent global tax agreement signed by 130 countries to address the problem of unfair tax systems. We aim to discuss the implications of such an agreement in global tax governance and its repercussions in the global south.

photo.jpg

Suranjali Tandon, Assistant Professor at National Institute of Public Finance and Policy, New Delhi.

unnamed.jpeg

Arthur Cockfield, Professor and Associate Dean (Academic Policy), Faculty of Law, Queen's University, Canada

chenai-sq.png

Chenai C Mukumba, Policy Research and Advocacy Manager at Tax Justice Network Africa

3 October 2021

Curriculum Reform in Economics

Challenges for Curriculum Reform

2:30 PM - 4:00 PM IST / 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM CET / 5:00 AM - 6:30 AM EST

The session aims to address the different structural constraints in designing and incorporating more pluralism in the economics curriculum. It intends to engage the audience in understanding the different pedagogies and alternative approaches that can be applied in Indian economics education. And finally outline the role of National Education Policy 2020 in overcoming the curriculum challenges and build room for a flexible education system in the universities of India.

Pulapre Balakrishnan.png

Pulapre Balakrishnan - Professor of Economics at Ashoka University

smTeUVcL_400x400.jpeg

Arjun Jayadev, Director of the School of Arts and Sciences at Azim Premji University.

Chirashree.jpg

Chirashree Das Gupta, Associate Professor  Jawaharlal Nehru University New Delhi.

Divya Pradeep_moderator.jpg

Divya Pradeep, Associate Professor with the Department of Economics at CHRIST (Deemed to be University).

Curriculum Reform in Economics

Decolonising Economics Curriculum

5:00 PM - 6:30 PM IST / 1:30 PM - 3:00 PM CET / 7:30 AM - 9:00 AM EST

The workshop aims to engage the participants in understanding the history of economics, and how and by whom the discipline’s knowledge was created. It will enable them to critically engage with the hierarchies and power in our learning system, against the history of colonialism in the discipline. And finally formulate the tangible steps in identifying opportunities by including different voices in the approach to decolonise the curriculum and reflect on diversifying design and delivery.

Event Partner

download.jpeg

Curriculum Reform in Economics

Evolution of Economics Education in India

7:30 PM - 9:00 PM IST / 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM CET / 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM EST

This session aims to outline the history of evolution of economics curriculum in India and understand the politics around economics education and the pedagogical practices across different institutions in India. It will draw on the different frameworks and interlinkages of economics education from the historical perspective to the present times.

Sanjay-Reddy.jpeg

Sanjay G. Reddy, Associate Professor of Economics at The New School for Social Research.

Rahul De Profile Photo.JPG

Rahul De, Assistant Professor in Economics at the School of Arts and Sciences.